The fault in our stars

“Because sometimes in life, Ken didn’t always choose Barbie”-Rachel Gibson

Have just finished the book every teenage girl talks about.
A friend of mine talked a lot about it. I must say I could not really understand what she saw in in, and that was only because I thought it was to sugar-sweet, especially for me when I am a boy who reads a lot of fantasy, with dragons and magic.
It is mostly just like any other romantic novel. The handsome boy with nearly or no flaws fall in love with the girl who is everything but perfect, in the end though we see that none of them are perfect and they both have tremendous flaws.
When I first saw the book, I laughed a little. After I had read the first two chapters, I knew it would not take long to read. My expectations was not a huge book, but a book that would be hard to read, for a boy who just really started to read books in English, not that I am bad, but most of my life I have read books in my own language. But it was not, I took me about 5-6 to read the 315 pages.
It was well written, it was sad, and funny, but the only thing that really made me read it to the end (in addition to that I never stop reading a book, or that some said I couldn’t read it to the day after, when I still needed 200 pages) was that it had lot’s of metaphors, which they also mention a lot in the book. When you read it you begin to think about stuff that makes absolutely no sense to think about. Like can infinity be bigger than another infinity. The answer to that question must be yes. We now there are theoretically an infinite numbers between 0 and 1, but the infinity must be bigger when it is between 0-2. This is an example they use in the book, of the thing we never think about, or some are mad enough to think about, which is a little wierd.
But if you should read it, after my experience with it, there are somethings to decide. If you like, a good love story that is a little sugar-sweet, then, yes you should read it. If you are to the fantasy books with people getting killed and magical creatures, then no. and last, if you think of questions no one ever will ask you, then you can actually enjoy it, which I kind of did. But it will not be a book I will return to a lot, it was nice but not amazing.

Now everybody…

 

 

2 thoughts on “The fault in our stars

  1. Just because you love fantasy doesn’t mean you can’t also enjoy books in a different genre! (Clearly you enjoyed this book even if you didn’t love it.) I think reading a variety of genres is important because it helps you appreciate more than just the story and characters. But to each his own. 🙂 Anyway, glad you liked The Fault in Our Stars. John Green definitely has a way of making us consider what we think about life.

    Like

  2. Thx for the feedback! You Are right that I also can enjoy other genres! That’s also one of the reasons I read the book! Two years ago I wouldn’t have read it. I am just about to read a svi-fi book which also has been recommend by one of my friends, so trying some new things.

    Like

Leave a Reply

